Skip to content

EEA & Norway Grants – EUR 40 million allocated to Slovenia

Slovenia will get EUR 40 million under the EEA & Norway Grants 2014 – 2021, being one of the 15 Beneficiary States across the EU in this new funding cycle, to have signed the Memorandum of Understanding with the Donor States (Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein).  

Out of the total budget, up to EUR 14.5 million will provide excellent opportunities via one major programme:  Climate Change Mitigation and Adaptation focussing on the reduction of greenhouse gas emissions, restoration of ecosystems contributing to climate change mitigation and adaptation, sustainable mobility, circular economy and less established renewable energy sources. Further EUR 13.5 million will be dedicated to enhancing the human capital and knowledge base via the Education, Scholarships, Apprenticeships and Youth Entrepreneurship programme which will pay special attention to developing systematic solutions in enhancing competences of academic staff as well as improving cooperation of stakeholders on local, regional and national level. 

Both programmes will be operated by the Government Office for Development and European Cohesion Policy in Slovenia. The Education, Scholarships, Apprenticeships and Youth Entrepreneurship programme will support organisations in partnership with the Norwegian Centre for International Cooperation in Education (SIU) and the National Agency of International Education Affairs (AIBA) whilst the Climate Change Mitigation and Adaptation programme will partner with the Norwegian Environment Agency. Those programme partners will play a key role in engaging Donor States’ organizations in cooperation projects under this mechanism. 

These programme areas open excellent opportunities for organizations in Donor State countries interested to partner on bilateral projects in the areas mentioned above, together with local Project Promoters from Slovenia.  

Further programme areas with allocated funding for Slovenia (incl. allocation in million euro) are:  

  • – Civil Society (3)  
  • – Social Dialogue – Decent Work (0.18)  
  • – National Bilateral Fund (0.75) 

The EEA & Norway Grants 2014 – 2021 has already signed Memorandum of Understanding with 15 countries marking the beginning of the collaboration and investment in the priority sectors. News regarding the previous 11 countries who have joined the programme can be found here: The Czech RepublicPortugalEstoniaMaltaSlovakiaPolandGreece, Lithuania, CroatiaBulgaria, and Romania.

For a complete overview of the EEA & Norway Grants 2014 – 2021, you may have a look at theBlue Book – the document outlining the strategy of this mechanism until 2021.