Skip to content

EEA & Norway Grants – EUR 102.1 million allocated to Latvia

Latvia will get EUR 102.1 million under the EEA & Norway Grants 2014 – 2021, being one of the 15 Beneficiary States across the EU in this new funding cycle, to have signed the Memorandum of Understanding with the Donor States (Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein).

Out of the total budget, up to EUR 12.5 million will be dedicated to the private sector, via one major programme:  Business Development, Innovation and SMEs. Further EUR 14.5 million will be offered under the Research and Education programme, potentially addressing research & innovation projects for companies, too.

The Business Development, Innovation and SMEs programme will aim to increase value creation and sustainable growth across enterprises in Latvia. This programme will be operated by the Investment and Development Agency in Latvia, in partnership with Innovation Norway, who will play a key role in engaging Donor States’ organizations in cooperation projects under this mechanism.

This programme area opens excellent opportunities for organizations in Donor State countries interested to partner on bilateral projects in the areas mentioned above, together with local Project Promoters from Latvia.

Further programme areas of less direct relevance for the private sector (incl. allocation in million euro) are:

  • Climate Change Mitigation, Adaptation and Environment (14)
  • Local Development, Poverty Reduction and Cultural Cooperation (10)
  • Correctional Services (13)
  • International Police Cooperation and Combating Crime (15)
  • Civil Society (8.5)
  • Social Dialogue – Decent Work (0.5)
  • National Bilateral Fund (2.4)

The total EEA & Norway Grants budget allocated to Latvia, including the funds for Bilateral Relationship and Technical Assistance, amounts to EUR 108.3 million. 

The current EEA & Norway Grants 2014 – 2021 funding cycle includes 15 Beneficiary States. Out of these, the Donor States have signed to date a Memorandum of Understanding with: Poland, Greece, The Czech Republic, Portugal, Estonia, Malta, Slovakia, Bulgaria and Romania.

For a complete overview of the EEA & Norway Grants 2014 – 2021, you may have a look at the Blue Book – the document outlining the strategy of this mechanism until 2021.